Mentorship Update

27 02 2013

Hey everyone, been awhile since I blogged so I figured I would update you on my Mentorship. I am mentoring at Scared Heart School in Moose Jaw. Which is awesome as it is one of the schools that is in the school division I got hired to so it will give me a chance to see some of the policies the school division has in place that in a year I will have to follow… wow that’s crazy to think about!

ANYWAYS! Since the school is in MJ and I am from MJ I worked it out with my mentor, Lindsay, so I could actually come into the school. So rather than Skype in with them, which I still may do or communicate over technology I can be with them and work with them together. I have not met them yet but I have plans to this coming Friday. 

Of course since this is an technology based course I wanted to get to know the students using some form of technology and so I decided to use the Google Forums that we learned about and tested earlier in this course. So I made a survey, i’ll attach it here for ya’ll to look at and I got the results today and I am very excited. I used it to find out more about them and also how technology savvy they are, for example how many have cell phones, and considering it is a grade 8 class and I have seen grade 4’s with cell phones I was happy to see it was almost split down the middle, but of course more had them then didn’t.

I am excited to meet them and am looking forward to Friday 🙂 hooray