Secrets of Discipline

16 02 2013

As I stated I was investigating the area of classroom management for one of my final projects for a class this semester and so I thought I would provide some of my findings.

One of the things I have been obsessed with since my second or third year of education is finding books to help me in my teaching practices. A healthy but cautiously dangerous addiction. This is a result to the addiction, my closet at my parents house currently and this also demonstrates the extent of my OCD haha —>

Image

When I started this project something I turned to was books for some information as to their thoughts on classroom management. A book that was recommended to me in my internship by a teacher I worked with after telling her my struggles with classroom management was called “Secrets Of Discipline for raising responsible children” by Ronald G. Morrish. She lent me the book however during internship there was no way I had time to read it, so I gave it back and forgot about it until this project came up. I had forgotten the books name and so I emailed the teacher and got the name and the next day ordered it. The point of my story is that the book came in the mail today and I have been reading it and it is as amazing as she said! NEW TEACHERS, FELLOW CLASSMATES/COLLEAGUES…. ATTENTION!!! If you struggle with classroom management or discipline you need to order and read this book. I say order because though it may be in a library you will want this for your collection.

Image

The book offers common sense explanations but yet not common enough that people forget them. I have not completed the book but already I have many pages tabbed. It is worth the read. I am excited to finish it and learn more. So if you want a good classroom management book check this one out.